David Feldman Outstanding Contribution Award


Nomination Period Now Open for 2022 Awards

To recognize outstanding contributions to the fields encompassed by the EPS through executive or managerial directions.
US$2,500 and Certificate
Basis for judging:
Contributions to the organization or enterprises connected with the field, to EPS Chapter, Section or Board of Governors activities, and to the fields encompassed by the EPS.

Recipient must have been a member of IEEE and EPS for the past five (5) years and renewed for the year of the award.

See nomination form for full details.




Paul Svasta

University Politehnica Bucharest, Romania

For strongly promoting and implementing Electronic Packaging and IEEE EPS activities in Europe, Region 8, for establishing a functional networking bridge from Academia to Industry.



2020 Kitty Pearsall

for outstanding service and sustained leadership to the EP Society through value added improvements in the areas of Awards, Education, Chapters, PDC courses, and professional development.

2019 Andrew Tay

      for outstanding contributions in leadership in EPS conferences, chapter and Board of Governors for over 28           years, notably the developmet of the EPS flagship Electronics Packaging Technology Conference in Region 10.

2018 Jean Trewhella

for 20 years of leadership consistently driving change, collaboration, and engagement in EPS and ECTC, including driving our society name change, sponsoring the Heterogeneous Integration Roadmap, and establishing the ECTC Student Reception.

2017 Patrick Thompson 

for outstanding, sustained contributions to CPMT at the Chapter, Society and conference levels for more than 30 years. He has held a large range of leadership positions and has implemented multiple improvements and advancements, added value and provided an innovative mindset.

2016 Jie Xue

for outstanding leadership of the CPMT Society as Vice President and President, with key impact on globalization, industry connections, technical committee revitalization, as well as initiating transformation to prepare the Society for rapid, disruptive changes in the semiconductor and electronics industries.

 2015  Shen-Li Fu

for outstanding, sustained contributions to CPMT through leadership of the CPMT Taipei Chapter, operation of multiple international conferences and promotion of strategic professional  and educational collaborations.

2014  S.W. Ricky Lee

for sustained leadership and service to the CPMT Society in a broad range of areas including Chapter management, conferences, publications, and governance, most recently serving as 2012-2013 CPMT Society President.

2013  Rolf Aschenbrenner

for over 13 years of leadership, including serving as the CPMT Society’s first President from Europe,and extending CPMT’s global technical reach through strategic collaborations and establishment of new conferences.

2012   Philip E. Garrou

for a quarter century of strategic and forward-looking leadership of the CPMT Society and key CPMT conferences.

2011  No award given

2010  William Chen

for leading the CPMT Society in defining its value propositions and executing strategic outreach to CPMT stakeholders in the major microelectronics development and manufacturing regions around the world.

2009  C.P. Wong

for 22 years of passion and dedication to the IEEE and CPMT Society in numerous volunteer leadership positions.

2008  Albert Puttlitz 

for his nearly 20 years of service to the IEEE and CPMT Society, including serving as champion of professional development by chairing the ECTC Professional Development Committee for many years; managing the Society Distinguished Lecturer's Program and serving more than 10 years of outreach and leadership as CPMT VP of Education.

2007  Rao R. Tummala

for the breadth of his contributions to the CPMT Society in numerous leadership roles, as well as their global impact; including his unprecedented two terms (four years) as CPMT Society President.

2006  John Segelken and Connie Swager

for exceptional and sustained leadership in the IEEE EPS and Electronic Components and Technology Conference (ECTC) in numerous roles.

2005  James Morris

for his exceptional service to IEEE and CPMT Society in various leadership roles and for his pioneering work in electrically conductive adhesives.

2004  Ralph W. Wyndrum

for his exceptional service to IEEE and the CPMT Society in various leadership roles for over forty- five years.

2003  Dennis Olsen

for his exceptional service to the IEEE EPS and its conferences for over twenty years.

2002 Herbert Reichl

2001 John Stafford

2000 John H. Lau

1999 Ron Gedney


1998 Koji Nehei

1996 Karel Kurzweil

1995 Iwona Turlik


1994 Les Fox

1993 Leo G. Feinstein

1992 George G. Harman


1991  David W. Palmer

1990  Morton Antler

1989  George H. Donaldson

1988  Nicholas T. Panousis

1986  Paul B. Wesling

1983  John H. Powers Jr.

1978  Ralph E. Armington

1977  David Feldman

1976  David A. McLean

1975  Rudolf Thun

1973  Louis Kahn

1972  Gus Shapiro

1969  R. Holm

1968  P. K. McElroy

1967  F. E. Wenger

1965  A. W. Rogers

1962  Paul S. Darnell