Bio Morris


JAMES E. MORRIS (S ’69, M’70, SM’82, F’00) Jim is a Professor of Electrical & Computer Engineering at Portland State University, Oregon, and Professor Emeritus at the State University of New York at Binghamton.  His B.Sc. and 1st Class Honors M.Sc. degrees in Physics are from the University of Auckland, New Zealand, and his Ph.D. in Electrical Engineering is from the University of Saskatchewan, Canada.  He has served as Department Chair at both Binghamton and Portland, and was the founding Director of Binghamton’s Institute for Research in Electronics Packaging. Jim has also held faculty positions at Saskatchewan, Victoria University of Wellington (NZ), and South Dakota School of Mines & Technology, with visiting/sabbatical positions at Loughborough University of Technology, Chemnitz University of Technology, University of Maryland (in CALCE), University of Bordeaux, University of Greenwich, Chalmers University of Technology, Dresden University of Technology, University of Canterbury (NZ), and Helsinki University of Technology (as Nokia-Fulbright Fellow), with honorary appointments at Shanghai University and Shanghai Jiao Tong University. Other positions have included Senior Technician and Post-Doctoral Fellow at the U of S, brief periods with Delphi Engineering (NZ) and IBM-Endicott, and industrial consulting.


Jim was CPMT Treasurer from 1991 until 1997, an elected BoG member in 1996-1998, and Vice-President for Conferences from 1998 until 2003. As Treasurer, he put the Society on the solid financial foundation which has endured since, and as VP-Conferences oversaw the significant expansion of CPMT conferences outside the USA.   He is an IEEE Life Fellow and CPMT Distinguished Lecturer, and won the CPMT David Feldman Outstanding Contribution Award in 2005. He is an Associate-Editor of the IEEE Transactions on CPMT. He has been General Chair of three CPMT-sponsored conferences, Treasurer or Technical Chair of others, and serves on several CPMT conference committees, including the ECTC Interconnections Program Committee, (having previously been a member of the ECTC Materials & Processing, Emerging Technologies, and Education committees.) As the CPMT Society representative on the IEEE Nanotechnology Council, he has instituted a regular Nanopackaging column in the IEEE Nanotechnology magazine, established the NTC Nanopackaging technical committee, (which also acts as a program committee for annual IEEE NANO conferences,) is the 2010-2011 NTC Awards Chair, and chaired the IEEE NANO 2011 conference in Portland.  He co-founded the Oregon CPMT Chapter in 2002, and since then has continually chaired or served on  its executive committee. He also belongs to the American Vacuum Society, the American Society for Engineering Education, and IMAPS, and co-founded the Oregon Chapter of the IEEE Education Society in 2005, chairing or serving on its executive committee since. In 2013, he will act as Program Chair for the technical conference associated with the IEEE-USA meeting in Portland.


His research activities are focused on electrically conductive adhesives and the electrical conduction mechanisms in discontinuous thin metal films, with applications to nanopackaging and single-electron transistor nanoelectronics, but with continuing projects in device modeling and sensors too.  He is also actively involved in the promotion of international educational exchanges, and in Internet education. He has edited or co-authored five books on electronics packaging, including “Nanopackaging: Nanotechnologies and Electronics Packaging,” is currently writing a sixth, and editing two more on nanoelectronics.