Bio Perfecto


ERIC PERFECTO (M’95, SM’01) has 28 years of experience at IBM working in the development of advanced  packages for high-end systems. He holds an M.S. in Chemical Engineering from the University of Illinois and an M.S. in Operations Research from Union College.

 Until 2000, Eric worked on the development and implementation of multi-level thin films on ceramic substrates, leading projects in photolithography, chemical etching, photosensitive polyimide, pattern electroplating and bonding metallurgies for C4 joining, wire-bonding and LGA. Later, he led the development of the thin film transfer technology including the joining materials and processes. He is currently the C4 Development Chief Technologist responsible for UBM and Pb-free solder implementation and yields improvements for server, ASICs and 3D applications. His technical interests include chip-package interaction, electromigration, 3D interconnect, and design for manufacturing.

 An author of more than 50 technical papers, Eric received two Best Conference Paper Awards (2006 ESTC and 2008 ICEPT-HDP) and the 1994 Prize Paper Award from CPMT Trans. on Adv. Packaging. He holds over 35 US patents and has been honored with two IBM Outstanding Technical Achievement Awards: one for the development and implementation of Cu-Polyimide structures, and the other for the development and implementation of 150 um pitch C4 technology.

 Eric served as the 57th ECTC General Chair in Reno, the 55th ECTC Program Chair , the ECTC  Materials and Processes Subcommittee Chair (‘02-‘03), and is currently the ECTC Publicity chair.  He has achieved senior member status from IEEE, IMAPS and Society of Plastic Engineers, and is a member of the Society of Hispanic Engineers.  Current volunteer activities include chairing the mentoring committee of the IBM East Fishkill Technical Vitality Council, and frequently serves as a judge at the Dutchess County Science Fair, NY.

 Eric is currently an elected member of the Board of Governors of the CPMT where he serves as the Program Director, Awards Programs. He is an Associate Editor for the CPMT Transactions.