Bio Tay


ANDREW TAY (M’91) is currently a Senior Research Fellow at the Singapore University of Technology and Design. Prior to this he was a Professor in the Department of Mechanical Engineering, National University of Singapore (NUS). He obtained his B.E. (Hons I and University Medal) and PhD in Mechanical Engineering from the University of New South Wales, Australia. His research interests include thermo-mechanical failures, thermal management of electronics and EV battery systems, reliability of solar photovoltaic modules and fracture mechanics. To date he has published more than 250 technical papers, 4 book chapters, 7 keynote presentations, 11 invited presentations, 3 panel discussions, and co-edited 4 conference proceedings and two special issues of technical journals.

Dr Tay was the inaugural General Chair of the 1st and 2nd Electronics Packaging Technology Conference (EPTC) in 1997 and 1998. Since then, he has been in the organising committee of EPTC. In 2006 he was appointed the inaugural Chairman of the EPTC Board, charged with steering the development of EPTC, and is currently again serving as its Chairman. He has been in the Executive Committee of the Singapore Joint Reliability/CPMT/ED Chapter since 2000 and was its Chairman from 2010-2011. He has been involved in the international advisory boards and program committees of more than 108 electronics packaging conferences worldwide including DTIP, ECTC, EMAP, EPTC, EuroSimE, HDP, ICEPT, IEMT, IMPACT, InterPack, ITHERM and THERMINIC.

Dr. Tay was an Associate Editor of the ASME Journal of Electronics Packaging, an editorial board member of several journals including Microelectronics Journal and Finite Elements in Analysis and Design, and a guest editor of a special issue on Microelectronics Reliability.

He has contributed significantly as a member of the IEEE EPS Education Committee from 1998 to 2007 where he helped to evaluate projects on web-based educational modules.

From 1998 to 2005, he coordinated the implementation of the Specialized Manpower Program in Electronics Packaging and Wafer Fabrication which was funded by the Singapore Economic Development Board. He has taught many professional short courses at packaging conferences. He has been awarded competitive research grants exceeding $14 Million for electronics packaging projects.

He has received the following major awards: 2012 IEEE EPS Exceptional Technical Achievement Award, 2012 IEEE EPS Regional Contributions Award, 2004 ASME Electronics & Photonics Packaging Division Engineering Mechanics Award, 2000 IEEE Third Millennium Medal, 2000 Special Presidential Recognition Award.

He has been an IEEE member since 1991, an ASME member since 1993, an ASME Fellow since 2004 and a Fellow of the Institution of Engineers (Singapore) since 2004.