eps logo

The Cosmopolitan

The Electronic Components and Technology Conference (ECTC) is the premier international event that brings together the best in packaging, components and microelectronic systems science, technology and education in an environment of cooperation and technical exchange.  

ITherm 2019 is an international conference for scientific and engineering exploration of thermal, thermomechanical and emerging technology issues associated with electronic devices, packages and systems. The first ITherm Conference was held in 1988, making this the 30th year of the Conference Series. 

ECTC/ITherm Co Sponsored Events:

Young Professionals Panel & Reception

Tuesday, May 28, 2019, 7:00 - 7:45 p.m.

In this active event, we will pair you with senior EPS members and professionals through a series of active and engaging activities. 


Women's Panel and Reception: Unleashing the Power of Diversity in our Workforce

Wednesday, May 29, 2019, 6:30 - 7:30 p.m.

Chairs: Kristina Young-Fisher, GLOBAFOUNDRIES and Cristina Amon - University of Toronto

Date: Tuesday May 28, 2019

Location: The Cosmopolitan, Las Vegas NV

Time: 8:00 a.m. - 5:30 p.m

Moderators: William Chen (ASE), Bill Bottoms (3MT Solutions) & Ravi Mahajan (Intel)

Our industry has reinvented itself through multiple disruptive changes in technologies, products, and markets. Our industry continues to change with the rapid migration of logic, memory, and applications to the cloud, the evolution of the Internet of Things (IoT) to the Internet of Everything (IoE), the proliferation of smart devices everywhere, the rise of 5G, the increasing presence of microelectronics in wearables & health application, and in autonomous automotive, and the rapid advancement of AI. The pace of innovation is simultaneously increasing to meet these challenges. The Heterogeneous Integration Roadmap will address the future directions of heterogeneous integration technologies and applications serving the future markets and applications.

The Heterogeneous Integration Roadmap Technical Working Groups are celebrating the completion of the 1st edition of the Heterogeneous Integration Roadmap. The Technical Working Groups will be reporting out their work products and on their plan for the next edition.

We'd like to invite all the ECTC & ITHERM participants to attend this important working session for our profession and for our industry. Registration is not required.  

  photo b chen                                                     Mahajan photo

      William Chen                                    Bill Bottoms                                      Ravi Mahajan

Election Principles                                                                                                                                                                                         

The EPS Board of Governors (BoG) includes 18 Members-at-Large, elected by the full voting membership of the Society. The three-year terms of the Members-at-Large are staggered, so that six Members-at-Large to the Board of Governors are elected annually.

Members-at-Large are elected to achieve totals proportionate to the geographic distribution of EPS members. Any IEEE Region/grouping of Regions determined to have at least 10% of total EPS members will have the proportional number of Member-at-Large positions designated to it for representation on the BoG.  The slate of candidates for each year’s election will be constructed to ensure that the resulting total of newly elected Members-at-Large plus continuing Members-at-Large has the proper proportion of representatives from each Region/grouping of Regions.

Each Region/grouping of Regions will have a separate slate of candidates from that Region.  Voting members will elect members-at-large from within their Region only (that is, members in Region 8 vote for Members-at-Large from Region 8, members in Region 10 vote for Members-at-Large from Region 10; etc.).


Candidates for Member-at-Large must:                  

     - be a current member of both IEEE and EPS

    - be willing to attend two annual Board meetings

     - be willing to participate actively in areas of their interest (publications, conferences, membership development, chapter development, etc). 

From April 1 - June 1, 2019, the Best Paper winners from ECTC 2018 will be available to everyone!

1) Best Session Paper 
Boettge, Bianca, F. Naumann, S. Behrendt, M. G. Scheibel, S. Kaessner, S. Klengel, M. Petzold et al. "Material characterization of advanced cement-based encapsulation systems for efficient power electronics with increased power density 
2) Best Interactive Presentation Paper
Ostrowicki, Gregory, Siva Gurrum, and Amit Nangia. "Correlated Model for Wafer Warpage Prediction of Arbitrarily Patterned Films.

3) Outstanding Session Paper
Del Carro, Luca, Martin Kossatz, Lucas Schnackenberg, Matthias Fettke, Ian Clark, and Thomas Brunschwiler. "Laser Sintering of Dip-Based All-Copper Interconnects." 

4) Outstanding Interactive Presentation Paper
Brand, Sebastian, Bianca Böttge, Michael Kögel, Falk Naumann, Jurrian Zijl, Sebastiaan Kersjes, Thomas Behrens, and Frank Altmann. "Non-destructive Assessment of the Porosity in Silver (Ag) Sinter Joints Using Acoustic Waves." 


The 21st Electronics Packaging Technology Conference (EPTC 2019) is an international event organized by the IEEE RS/EPS/EDS Singapore Chapter and co-sponsored by IEEE Electronics Packaging Society (EPS). EPTC 2019 will feature keynotes, technical sessions, short courses, forums, an exhibition, social and networking activities. It aims to provide a good coverage of technology developments in all areas of electronics packaging from design to manufacturing and operation. It is a major forum for the exchange of knowledge and provides opportunities to network and meet with leading international experts. 

Read More

The IEEE Electrical Design of Advanced Packaging and Systems (EDAPS) Symposium has been one of the main events in the Asia Pacific region with a focus on the electrical design of chip, package and systems for electronics applications. For more than a decade, this symposium has attracted world class researchers from both academia and industry to share their state-of-the-art results in chip, package and printed circuit board design and measurements.


Prospective authors should submit a three-page manuscript by August 5, 2019

Notification about acceptance will be given by September 20, 2019.

Accepted papers will be reproduced as-is in the Conference Proceedings.

In addition, authors of accepted papers will be invited to submit an extended version of their manuscript for a Special Section based on EDAPS-2019 to be published in the IEEE Transactions on Components, Packaging and Manufacturing Technology (T-CPMT).

Read More

Using Stepped-Impedance Lines for Common-Mode Noise Reduction on Bended Coupled Transmission Lines

Ding-Bing Lin ; Chung-Pin Huang ; Hsin-Nan Ke

Publication Year: 2016, Page(s):757 - 766 


3-D Printed Metal-Pipe Rectangular Waveguides

Mario D’Auria ; William J. Otter ; Jonathan Hazell ; Brendan T. W. Gillatt ; Callum Long-Collins ; Nick M. Ridler ; Stepan Lucyszyn

Publication Year: 2015, Page(s):1339 - 1349 

Study of Annular Copper-Filled TSVs of Sensor and Interposer Chips for 3-D Integration

Cao Li ; Jinglong Zou ; Sheng Liu ; Huai Zheng ; Peng Fei

Publication Year: 2019, Page(s):391 – 398


High-Frequency Scalable Electrical Model and Analysis of a Through Silicon Via (TSV)

Joohee Kim ; Jun So Pak ; Jonghyun Cho ; Eakhwan Song ;Jeonghyeon Cho ; Heegon Kim ; Taigon Song ; Junho Lee ;Hyungdong Lee ; Kunwoo Park ; Seungtaek Yang ; Min-Suk Suh ;Kwang-Yoo Byun ; Joungho Kim

Publication Year: 2011, Page(s):181 - 195 


Novel Electronic Packaging Method for Functional Electronic Textiles

Menglong Li ; John Tudor ; Jingqi Liu ; Russel Torah ; Abiodun Komolafe ; Steve Beeby

Publication Year: 2019, Page(s):216  - 225


Read More