eps logo

Professor Avram Bar-Cohen, past President of IEEE Electronics Packaging Society, and past Editor-in-Chief of the IEEE Transactions on Components and Packaging Technologies passed away on October 10, 2020.  He was a giant in the field of thermal management, and made seminal research and professional contributions over a five decade period.  Professor Bar-Cohen’s research focused on several areas in microsystems packaging.  His work on air cooling focused on optimization of natural and forced air cooling devices, and sustainability and life cycle considerations of thermal management devices. His work spanned the spectrum from fundamental research to emerging applications, including 2.5D and 3D heterogeneous integration, radio frequency, opto-electronics, and power electronics devices and systems.

Read More

Title: The Evolution of Lead-free Solder Alloys

Date: December 16, 2020

Presenter: Dr. HongWen Zhang

Dr. HongWen Zhang is the Manager of the Alloy Group at the Indium Corporation's Research & Development Department. His focus is on the development of lead-free solder materials and the associated technologies for high temperature and high-reliability applications. He and Dr. Ning-Cheng Lee invented the mixed powder technique to combine the merits of constituents to improve wetting, reduce processing temperatures, modify the bonding interface, and control the joint's morphology, thus improving the reliability.

Register Here

Read More

Peter Ramm, Paul Franzon, Phil Garrou, Raja Swaminathan, Pascal Vivet, Mustafa Badaroglu


“Real 3D” integration - 3DIC Integration in its true definition - has a long history. As early as 1985, Richard P. Feynman expressed this vision: “Another direction of improvement of computing power is to make physical machines three dimensional instead of all on a surface of a chip. That can be done in stages instead of all at once - you can have several layers and then add many more layers as time goes on”.

Read More

Chair: Dereje Agonafer 

Website: under construction: https://cmte.ieee.org/eps-tmm/

The Thermal Management and Thermomechanical Design Technical Committee is concerned with all aspects of thermal, thermo-mechanical, electro-thermal phenomena related to electronic/microelectronics packaging and electrical systems. The subjects of interest include:

  • Electronic Cooling and Thermal Management of Component and System
  • Thermal Design and Analysis
  • Coupled Electro-Thermal Phenomena
  • Thermal and Thermomechanical Measurements
  • Thermal Mismatches and Stressses
  • Temperature Induced Fracture and Moisture Stresses in IC Package
  • Thermomechanical Design and Analysis of Component and System
  • Thermomechanical Computer Aided Design and Engineering
  • Co-Design
  • Heterogeneous Integration

Read More

Greeting from Chapter Chair:

Greetings to all EPS M’sia members. Time flies, we are approaching the end of Y2020, with many new methods of living and working; basically establishing new norms in this pandemic Y2020. This newsletter also marks our planning on the forthcoming new year!

While World Health Organization (WHO) and all our government agencies reminding us on the important of avoiding the 3Cs (crowded places, close contacts and confined spaces), the semiconductor leaders feel that COVID-19 will have a positive impact on the investment and growth in the industry that all of us are working on. This great opportunity lies ahead of us with more adoption of 5G, greater usage of artificial intelligence, and Internet of Things (IoT) as it will result in increased investment in the state-of-the-art technology computing power to enable the industry 4.0 Initiative. This indeed a very good sign for all of us to continue to have engineers capable of handling this development while learning to adapt further to these new norms of life challenges.

Read More

Connect with your local chapter to find out the latest events and activities.

EPS Chapters

Chapter Chairs

Mid Hudson (Region 1)

Mukta Farooq

Binghamton (Region 1)

Daniel Blass & Mark Poliks

Pittsburgh (Region 2)

John Mazurowski

Eastern North Carolina (Region 3)

David Ricketts

Santa Clara Valley (Region 6)

Annette Teng & David McDougall

San Diego (Region 6)

Paragkumar Thadesar

Phoenix (Region 6)

David Dougherty

Oregon (Region 6)

Howard Heck


Full List of Chapters and Chairs

For a limited time, the best papers and Dick Chu Award paper from ITherm 2020 will be available as open access.

“Embedded Microchannel Cooling for High Power-Density GaN-on-Si Power Integrated Circuits”

Remco van Erp, Georgios Kampitsis, Luca Nela, Reza Soleimanzadeh Ardebili, Elison Matioli


“General Thermosyphon Simulation Code for Electronics Cooling Applications”

Jackson B. Marcinichen, Raffaele L. Amalfi, Filippo Cataldo, John R. Thome


“Modelling Indium Interconnects for Ultra Fine-Pitch Focal Plane Arrays”

Stoyan Stoyanov, Chris Bailey, Rhys Waite, Christopher Hicks, Terry Golding


“Additively Manufacturing Nitinol as a Solid-State Phase Change Material”

Darin J. Sharar, Adam A. Wilson, Asher Leff,  Andrew Smith, K. Can Atli, Alaa Elwany,  Raymundo Arroyave, Ibrahim Karaman


Dick Chu Paper Award

“Quiet Revolutions: How Advanced Microelectronics Packaging Continues to Drive Heterogeneous Integration”

Ravi Mahajan

You can find the most accessed T-CPMT articles on Xplore here 

Please provide your feedback on what you would like to see in an upcoming issue of the EPS newsletter

Submit Comments here