eps logo

Title: Implantable Electronics: Emerging Packaging Needs, Challenges and Recent Industry Breakthroughs

Date: February 6, 2020

Time: 11:00 AM EST

Register Here

Earn 1 Professional Development Hour (PDH) for completing an EPS webinar - Complete Form



Neuroprosthetic technologies aim to continuously interface with the nervous system to restore lost motor or sensory functions from injury and diseases. Implantable biosensors continuously monitor health conditions to provide continuous close-loop feedback to such systems. Such technologies have already been helping patients with heart disease, hearing and vision loss, diabetes, amputees, patients with spincal cord injury, and other brain-related disorders.  The first part (by Prof. Ranu Jung, FIU, Miami) will describe emerging neuroprosthetic technologies and the needs for advanced packaging solutions for miniaturized functional integration in implantable electronics. Miniauturized chip-scale hermetic packaging is the key to realize implantable electronics. Glass micro bonding combined together with hermetic through glass vias (TGVs) helps designing a chronically implantable electronics device. The development and validation of this technology will be presented by Schott Primoceler (Ossi Lahtinen). The last part will highlight a recent fully-implantable bioelectronic implant by  by Senseonics Inc. in collaboration with Integrated Device Technology (a Renesas Company). In this talk, Gaurav Mehrotra (Renesas USA) will highlight the system integration and packaging challenges associated with Eversense CGM.

The webinar will thus cover needs, technologies and leading-edge productization of implantable electronics. 



Co-hosted by IEEE EPS, EPS Santa Clara Valley Chapter & SEMI

When: February 20 - 21, 2020

Where: SEMI Headquarters, 673 South Milpitas Blvd, Milpitas, CA USA

Register Here

Thursday, February 20, 2020: HIR Symposium

Time: 8:30 AM – 6:00 PM

Who Should Attend: Open to the General Public

Plenary Speakers and Technical Working Group Representatives (from Intel, Boeing, Fraunhofer, NASA, Infineon, Google, Advantest, ASE, ITRI, SEMI, UI-UC, U-Md, UCLA, more)

Friday, February 21, 2020: HIR Technical Working Meeting and Open House

Time: 8:30 AM – 4:00 PM

Who Should Attend: All HIR Technical Working Group members and anyone interested in participating or learning more about the Heterogeneous Integration Roadmap.

The purpose is to provide a structured forum for interaction, collaboration and feedback.

Read More

From January 1 - June 1, 2020, the Best Paper winners from ECTC 2019 will be available to everyone!

1)       Best Session Paper

Perceval Coudrain, Jean Charbonnier, Arnaud Garnier, Pascal Vivet, Rémi Vélard, Andrea Vinci, Fabienne Ponthenier, Alexis Farcy, Roselyne Segaud, Pascal Chausse, Lucile Arnaud, Didier Lattard, Eric Guthmuller, Giovanni Romano, Alain Gueugnot, Frédéric Berger, Jérôme Beltritti, Therry Mourier, Mathilde Gottardi, Stéphane Minoret, Céline Ribière, Gilles Romero, Pierre-Emile Philip, Yorrick Exbrayat, Daniel Scevola, Didier Campos, Maxime Argoud, Nacima Allouti, Raphaël Eleouet, César Fuguet Tortolero, Christophe Aumont, Denis Dutoit, Corinne Legalland, Jean Michailos, Séverine Chéramy,  Gilles Simon - CEA LETI

“Active Interposer Technology for Chiplet-Based Advanced 3D System Architectures”

2). Best Interactive Presentation Paper

H.T. Hung, S.Yang, I. A. Weng, Y. H. Chen, C. R. Kao-National Taiwan University, Y.H. Chen-Unimicron Corp.

“Low Temperature and Pressureless Microfluidic Electroless Bonding Process for Vertical Interconnection”

3). Outstanding Session Paper

Horst Theuss, Christian Geissler, Franz-Xaver Muehlbauer, Claus von Waechter, Thomas Kilger, Juergen Wagner, Thomas Fischer, Ulf Bartl, Stephan Helbig, Alfred Sigl, Dominic Maier, Bernd Goller, Matthias Vobl, Matthias Herrmann, Johannes Lodermeyer, Ulrich Krumbein - Infineon Technologies AG; Alfons Dehe - Hahn-Schickard 

A MEMS Microphone in a FOWLP” 

4). Outstanding Interactive Presentation Paper

Jiefeng Xu, Scott McCann, Huayan Wang, Jing Wang, VanLai Pham, Stephen R. Cain, S.B. Park-The State University of New York at Binghamton, Gamal Refai-Ahmed-Xilinx, Inc.

An Assessment of Electromigration in 2.5D Packaging

To highlight the best/outstanding papers selected from each of the EPS flagship conferences (ECTC, ESTC and EPTC), travel funding will be provided to attend another EPS flagship conference.  One author will be invited to present their best/outstanding paper (up to US$2,125 for intercontinental travel and up to US$1,375 for intracontinental travel). Only one trip per paper will be allowed (one co-author can be invited; preference for original presenter) and can only be taken within 12 months of award.  

The IEEE EPS President’ Panel explores the path of packaging technologies towards the future.  Visions of future packaging technologies are presented by students and discussed with EPS expertsin the field. The best student packaging visions will be selected by an expert panel recruited from EPS and ECTC technologists and awarded the EPS FPV Awards at the panel session.  In the frame of the EPS packaging technology vision contest, selected students with ECTC 2020 papers will be invited to propose their electronics packaging technologies visions to a review board assembled around the EPS President from IEEE EPS experts. They will prepare a short slide set in advance of the full paper submission. The selected/invited students will present their slide set with the bigger picture of their research work and their visions for the future (about the impact of their research field and work expected) at the panel session. Student ECTC authors are specifically encouraged to apply. The EPS President’s Panel provides an enhanced opportunity to dialog with our younger colleagues in order to involve them and their way of thinking as early as possible into the discussion on future packaging technologies within the EPS. The result is to identify significant future packaging technologies in order to best serve IEEE and the electronics community by motivating and involving the very high potential of our students.

If your student paper has been accepted to ECTC 2020 and you are interested in participating please inform us as soon possible with the following information

First Student Author - Name:

First Student Author - Affiliation:

First Student Author - email:

ECTC 2020 Paper Title:


Karlheinz Bock: EPS Emerging Technologies Technical Committee Chair 

Denise Manning: EPS Executive Director 

Dear All


IEEE EPS “Nanopackaging” and “Emerging Technologies” Technical Committees looks for your contributions to IEEE NANO 2020.


Topics of high interest are:

  • Nanoscale component (RF, sensing, power) integration
  • Nanomaterials for flexible/wearable/implantable electronics,  
  • Nanomaterials for thermal management
  • Nanomaterials and nanostructures for reliability and hermiticity
  • Other applications of nanomaterials in packaging


We hope you can contribute to this Track.


It is in the beautiful Montreal, from July 29-31, 2020.

The deadline is approaching but can be extended.


Thank you

Nanopackaging Track Chairs

Jim Morris, P M Raj

Read More