PhD Fellowship

Nomination Period Now Open for 2023 EPS PhD Fellowship

September 15, 2022 - January 21, 2023

Nomination Form 

To promote, recognize, and support PhD level study and research within the Electronics Packaging Society’s field of interest.


A plaque and a single annual award of US$5,000, applicable towards the student’s research.


Candidate must be an IEEE EPS member, at the time of nomination, and be pursuing a doctorate degree within the EPS field of interest on a full-time basis from an accredited graduate school or institution. The candidate must have studied with her/his advisor for at least 1 year, at the time of nomination, to be eligible.
A Student who received a Fellowship award from another IEEE Society, within the same year, or is a previous EPS Fellowship winner is ineligible.


  • On-Line application available by September 
  • Complete application packages are due by January 21, 2023
  • Recipients will be notified by mid March 
  • Formal award presentations will take place at the IEEE EPS luncheon at ECTC at the end of May.
  • Monetary awards will be given by June 15 (or at ECTC)

Selection/Basis for Judging:

Demonstration of his/her significant ability to perform independent research in the fields of electronic packaging and a proven history of academic excellence, as documented in:
  • Nominator must be of IEEE EPS Member grade or higher. Only one nomination per member per year. Self nominations are not allowed.
  • Two-page (maximum) statement by the student describing his or her education and
  • Research interests, accomplishments, and impact on the electronics package industry.
  • Proof of contributions to the community may consist of open literature publications (preferred) such as papers, patents, books, and conference presentations and reports (available to the public).
  • At least one letter of recommendation from someone familiar with the student’s work
  • Student resume




Peng Zhao

Nanyang Technological University,  Singapore

Institute of Microelectronics (A*STAR), Singapore



2021 - Abishek Deshpande

For his contributions in the development of multiaxial microscale solder joint test specimens and cyclic test setups for demonstrating the differences in solder joint vulnerability to tensile fatigue vs. shear fatigue.

2020 - Siddarth Ravichandran

For contributions to the development 2.5D and 3D Glass Packages for Heterogeneous Integration in High Performance Computing.

2019 - SivaChandra Jangam

For contributions to the development of the Silicon Interconnect Fabric as a platform for the fine pitch integration of heterogeneous dielets and the associated signaling protocol.