Regional Contributions Award

2023 Award Nomination Period Extended to February 14, 2023

September 15, 2022 - January 31, 2023

 Nomination Form

To recognize significant and outstanding leadership and contributions to the growth and impact of EPS programs and activities at the Region level. Maximum of one award annually from each Region/Groups of Regions (3 awards): Regions 1-7 & 9; Region 8; and Region 10.
US$1,000 and Certficate
Basis for Judging:
Demonstrated service and leadership in areas that may include but are not limited to Chapter activities, Conference/Workshop activities, Membership Development, Student Programs and Technical Activities. The respective EPS Regional Advisory Committees will receive nominations, evaluate candidates, select a candidate(s), and present candidate(s) to EPS Awards Committee for review and approval.
Recipient must have been a member of IEEE and EPS for at least the past three years and renewed for the year of the Award.
A minimum of 2 endorsements (maximum of 4) is requested to support this nomination (Endorsers do not need to be current EPS members)



Ranjen Murugan photo

Regions 1 - 7 & 9

Rajen Murugan

Texas Instruments, Inc., USA

For founding the EPS Dallas Chapter and demonstrating exemplary leadership and sustained technical contributions in enabling and promoting EPS and IEEE programs and activities in the Dallas Section and Region 5.

Rolf Aschenbrenner photo

Region 8

Rolf Aschenbrenner

Fraunhofer Institute for Reliability and Microintegration, Germany

For contributions in strengthening electronics packaging and systems integration in Europe through technical leadership, conferences and active engagement with local technical communities.


 Aoyagi JPEG

Region 10

Masahiro Aoyagi

Kumamoto University, Japan

For contribution to enhance collaboration in Region 10, especially between Japan and Singapore and achievement to develop 3D LSI chip stacking technology with TSVs and micro-bumps.



2021 Region 10

Ranjan Rajoo

For growing R10 flagship conference EPTC through strategic partnerships with the entire microelectronics supply chain, and for contributions to Singapore EPS.

2020 Regions 1-7 & 9

Seungbae Park

For outstanding contributions to promote the Electronics Packaging Symposium, and unique Industry-Academia Consortium for Smart Electronics Manufacturing research & education into Industry 4.0 initiatives.

2020 Region 8

Thomas Zerna

For his commitment and role in establishing the ESTC conference, and for his contributions to the EPS Germany chapter.

2020 Region 10

Kishio Yokouchi

For his commitment and role in establishing the ESTC conference, and for his contributions to the EPS Germany chapter.

2019 Region 10

Shaw Fong Wong

For outstanding and sustained leadership contributions to the IEEE/EPS Malaysia Chapter and to significantly engage and promote close collaboration within R10 technical activities. 

2018 Regions 1-6, 7 & 9

Annette Teng 

For sustained contributions to the Santa Clara Valley Chapter and continued support of Chapter activities. 

2018 Region 8 

Gilles Poupon

For outstanding and sustained contributions and leadership in regional activities, such as organization of international conferences and workshops, active volunteering in technical committees, and leading the EPS French chapter to one of the most active chapters in the region.

2018 Region 10

Yoshitaka Fukuoka

For contributions to establish an international Japanese conference on electronic packaging and to provide the latest packaging technology information in Japan, to the world. 

2017 Region 10

Shen-Li Fu

For contributions to the development of the IEEE EPS Taipei Chapter and the successful establishment of a professional interactive platform among the chapters in Region 10, through international conferences.

2016 Region 8 

Zsolt Illyefalvi-Vitéz

For outstanding contributions in promoting electronic packaging and IEEE EPS networking activities in East Europe and Region 8, including founding the ISSE - International Spring Seminar on Electronics Technology and establishing and developing the IEEE EPS Hungary-Romania Joint Chapter. 

2016 Rgegion 10

Yasuhiro Ando

For contributions to the reconstruction and activation of the CPMT Japan Chapter as Vice Chair and Chair, and leadership in electronics and photonics packaging technologies development in Japan.

2015 Region 8

Paul Svasta

For sustained contributions to electronic packaging technology and education and to IEEE EPS activities in Region 8, through leadership in the CPMT Joint Hungary and Romania Chapter, and for establishing the IEEE SIITMEC conference and student TIE competition.

2015 Region 10

Arun Chandrasekhar

For significant contributions to CPMT activities in Region 10, through establishing and leading the CPMT Bangalore Chapter, while simultaneously organizing and chairing IEEE EDAPS 2014. 

2014 Regions 1-6, 7 & 9 

Sam Karikalan

For founding the CPMT Orange County Chapter and providing strong leadership in Chapter and conference development and management.

2014 Region 8 

Klaus-Jürgen Wolter

For significant contributions to the training and development of future CPMT scientists and engineers in Region 8  as General Chair, International Spring Seminar on Electronics Technology (ISSE), 2002-2012 and establishing and developing the Electronics Packaging Lab (AVT),Technical University of Dresden to become the largest university electronic packaging research and training center in Germany.

 2014 Region 10 

Kanji Otsuka
For noteworthy contributions to the CPMT Japan Chapter and Region 10 as founder (1993) and continuing Committee Member of the VLSI Packaging Workshop, Japan, which grew to become the CPMT Symposium Japan, and as a longtime member of the CPMT Japan Chapter Committee.

2012 Regions 1-6, 7 & 9

Vasudeva Prasad Atluri
For over 20 years of outstanding and dedicated service to, support of and leadership in the CPMT Phoenix Chapter, with an emphasis on workshop and technical program leadership and fund-raising for the IEEE Phoenix Section Student Scholarship Endowment – all contributing to a strong, successful Chapter.

2012 Region 8

Nihal Sinnadurai
For key contributions to establishing a collaboration between the CPMT Society and  IMAPS-Europe, leading to the successful establishment of the Electronic System-Integration Technology Conference (ESTC) – the CPMT Society's Flagship Conference in Region 8, of which he was Executive Chair in 2008, as well as for sustained contributions as co-founder and Chair of the CPMT UK&RI Chapter.

2012 Region 10

Andrew Tay
For establishing the Electronics Packaging Technology Conference (EPTC) -- the CPMT Society's Flagship conference in Region 10, now in its 14th year, as well as for sustained significant contributions and outstanding leadership in the Joint Reliability/CPMT/ED Singapore Chapter and in the EPTC Board.

2011 Regions 1-6, 7 & 9

Paul Wesling
For over 35 years of continuous service to the CPMT Santa Clara Valley Chapter in numerous leadership and advisory roles, with a focus on technical/educational program development and passion for communications, that helped the Chapter grow, thrive and become a model within the CPMT Society and the IEEE.

2010 Region 8

Jorma Kivilahti
For establishing the IEEE EPS Finland Chapter, developing programs to serve local CPMT members and the profession and building strong collaborations and networks within the region.